Jesus Through the Word: Leviticus

Week Four: Leviticus


Ritual—Leviticus 1-7

Priesthood—Leviticus 8-10

Purity Laws—Leviticus 11-15

The Day of Atonement—Leviticus 16-17

Purity Laws—Leviticus 18-20

Priesthood—Leviticus 21-22

Ritual—Leviticus 23-27


Sacrifices (Leviticus 9:8,12,18, 22)

Sin Offering

Ascension Offering

Peace Offering

Feasts (Leviticus 23)

Sabbath (4th Commandment)

Passover (Exodus)

Firstfruits (waving grain to bless the coming harvest)

Weeks (Waving loaves to commemorate the finished harvest)

Day of Atonement (bull for Aaron’s sins, one goat slaughtered for people sins, one scapegoated, laying hands on it)

Holiness Codes

Purity—Leviticus 10-15, 18-20

Love—Leviticus 19:9-18

Priesthood—Leviticus 21-22

Blessings and Curses

Blessings—Leviticus 26:1-13

Curses—Leviticus 26:14-39

Mercy—Leviticus 26:40-45

Where is Jesus?

Sacrifices/Atonement (Hebrews 9:11-14, 23-26, 13:12)

Priesthood (Hebrews 7:23-8:2)

Sabbath (Hebrews 4:8-10) (SEE BELOW)

Passover/Crucifixion (1 Corinthians 5:7)

Firstfruits/Resurrection (1 Corinthians 15:20)

Weeks/Pentecost (Acts 2:1)

Worship (Confession, Ascension, Communion)

Our Blessing (Leviticus 26:1-12—2 Corinthians 6:14-16

What is this book about?

Through rituals, feasts, sacrifices, and purity regulations, the priests first, and through them the people are able to remain in the presence of their Holy God.

How does it point to Jesus?

Rituals and sacrifices that depend on man, and on the blood of bulls and goats cannot ultimately redeem, or bring us into the presence of God in Heaven. These shadows therefore point to the God-Man who fulfilled each aspect of to the letter, establishing a “new and better way”, granting us eternal life in the presence of our Holy God.

Joe Carlson